Tags

, , ,

I meet rather interesting people all the time in downtown Seattle. A few months ago I had a minor encounter with one such character. While on my way to a concert I found myself with a few extra minutes to burn so I stopped at a discount clothing store and approached the bin where the wallets and such were for sale. There I found a middle aged man dressed in clothing that easily could have come from a thrift store…

Man: Would you like me to leave. I don’t mind leaving.
Me : No, you stay. You’re just fine where you are.
Man: Are you really sure?
Me : Yes, I am really sure. Thank you for being so thoughtful.
Man: Oh. I am sorry I wasn’t kind enough to you. I should be more thoughtful.
Me : You’re fine where you are. Stay!
Man: OK, are you..
Me : STAY!

A minute or so passes with a strange quiet going on…

Man: Would you like to see my wallet?
Me : uhhhhh, OK…

He gets out his wallet and opens it (thank God that is all he pulled out).

Man: It has two places for ID. See, one has my driver’s license and the other is empty because I don’t have another ID.
Me : Oh, that is too bad.
Man: I know. It is kind of sad.
Man: Can I see your wallet?
Me : I don’t think so, I think it would rather stay in my purse.
Man: Oh. How many IDs do you have.
Me : You know what, you were right, I think it is time for you to go.
Man: See, I told you so…

Copyright 2012 By Katherine Johnson – All Rights Reserved.

