Tags

, , ,

Woman Sewing – Westlake Center – Seattle, WA

My normal practice is to use a tripod and to carefully set up my shots up. Because of this I don’t shoot a lot of images in a given day. This is a recipe for stagnation as this approach removes spontaneity from the process.

In an attempt to avoid getting stuck in my routine I get up early from time to time and head out with self-imposed orders to let the intuitive eye rule and respond to it quickly when it latches on to something. This photo is from one of those mornings.

In this instance what caught my attention was that brief moment when her arm reached its full extension and how it forced her palm to face directly into the sunlight. You cannot plan shots like this one. In fact sometimes it feels like they seek you out.

Copyright 2012 By Katherine Johnson – All Rights Reserved.

